On The Run Eating Out Holiday Hacks

If you are anything like me, you are probably running around this holiday season and find yourself having to eat out more times in the span of a few weeks than eat at home. Stop the guilt! One of the best things you can do for yourself is to just maintain during the holiday season, and not to get to far off the beaten path. If you allow yourself a sensible splurge from time to time, the temptation of overeating sweet treats will be diminished. Here are a few of my holiday hacks to eating out on the run this holiday season while shopping. You can get many of these meals anytime during the day.

panera-mediterranean-breakfast-sandwich4Panera–  I came up with a somewhat hybrid of Dr. Phil’s 20/20 plan. Panera  has a Mediterranean flatbread sandwich that is great for those times when you want to eat out but hate the guilt. I make sure it is with  egg whites, spinach, and roasted red peppers. The sandwich comes in at just under 340 calories! It is sooooo yummy!

 

 

Nando’s– I have to admit, this has become a favorite of mine when I am out and about on a Saturday. As it turns out you do not have to compromise taste. Go ahead and order a 1/4 piri-piri-chickenChicken Breast & Wing for just over 250 calories!

Nando’s started way back in 1987, when the first restaurant opened in Rosettenville in Johannesburg, South Africa. We’ve come a long way since then, but we’ve never forgotten our humble beginnings.

 splashShop House – It’s menu is a respectable nod to the culinary traditions of Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia. This just might be my favorite place! I love spicy, spicy and more spicy. Whenever I go there I always leave feeling satisfied. I always have the spicy peanut bowl without the peanut sauce. You can choose brown rice or jasmine rice. I usually have jasmine rice, chicken, papaya slaw, basil, red curry sauce on the side. For dessert I LOVE their coconut rice and mango parfait. SOOOO GOOD!! Here is a big tip. When I eat here I try to eat early afternoon only because I already know that my calorie count for this meal is just under 600 calories.
gusto-salad-bowl
Gusto’s Italian Grill – When I feel like a hearty salad without the guilt, I head straight to Gusto’s Italian Grill. I have tried all of their salads and they range anywhere from 450 – 750 calories. You can build your own. Don’t say I did not warn you about their gelato push up pops!! Small portions and all natural ingredients, so you can feel guilt free about eating one.
All of Gusto’s  ingredients are prepared using classic cooking techniques that ignite the food’s natural flavors. This is the essence of Italian farmhouse cooking, and we use this same approach to bring you a healthy taste for life.
Let me know some of your favorite hot spots when it comes to staying on track during the holiday season!

 

Leave a Reply

